Sit down ladies – God put men in charge!

Well, that’s what I thought – sort of – when I was young and didn’t know better.

I had heard the verses about women being silent in the church, not being permitted to teach or have authority over a man, etc.. It seemed straightforward. Men are in charge! As a man, that worked for me, even though I didn’t really live that way. My mom was a strong woman, and I had no problem with her leadership. My sister was a strong woman in charge of nurses on a hospital ward. One of my college deans was a woman, and I had no problem submitting to her leadership. I even married a strong woman, and kind of liked the fact that she regularly challenged me.

But, in the church, I was resigned to the fact that the men were in charge. That’s what the Bible says, right?

But then I went to my local church one night, and one of my professors was speaking – Dr. Deborah Menken Gill. I knew she was THE resident expert on Biblical languages. But tonight she was speaking on the topic of, “The Biblical Liberated Woman.”

Before I address how her talk enlightened me, let me share an encounter I had in the lobby. I was near Dr. Gill as people were coming up to her, eager for a moment with this esteemed scholar. One man who was there decided this was his moment to challenge her on the topic. The poor guy was so ill prepared to grapple with her intellect, that I anticipated a humorous exchange as his folly was exposed. He espoused his belief that men had abdicated leadership, and that’s why God was using women like her, but if men would step up and take their place of leadership, then all would be better. “What do you think of that?” he asked.

Instead of embarrassing this zealous but ill-advised gentleman, she enthusiastically said, “Oh, I’m going to have my chance to talk in a few minutes up on stage. I’m interested in what you have to say right now!” She did it with a genuine smile and not a hint of the sarcasm that would have certainly come from my immature heart. She was genuine and kind. I was already impressed.

Then, for the next hour, she brilliantly framed the issue of the status of women in creation, after the fall, and through the Old Testament. She then demonstrated how radically different Jesus treated women than did the culture and religious structures of the day. She showed us how women were treated as equals in the early church, and shared the same titles as men, including apostle.

But what about those verses that say women should be silent and not in authority? Well, by this time, it was clear that those “problem passages” were the outliers! Nothing in the Old Testament or the Gospels limited the role of women. Women were active in the early church. Paul even gives instruction on HOW women are to conduct themselves WHEN they speak and prophesy. So, how could he then turn around and tell them to shut up and sit down? There must be something else going on here.

Dr. Gill skillfully led us through several options for interpreting these verses with an openness and honesty that did not run for the first easy answer. She really showed us how to wrestle with these passages.

Finally, things made sense again. Sure, men are usually the ones in leadership positions. Eleven out of the twelve judges were men. Perhaps there is something in our temperaments where men often aspire to lead, while women choose different roles. But for those women who are clearly called and gifted to lead, why would we limit them? Instead, we should celebrate the Deborahs, Phoebes, and Priscillas (not to mention the Elaines, Susans, Carolyns, and Ellens) that God raises up. Honor the strong women!

Because we know the church would close its doors tomorrow if we lost the Marthas!


If you’d like to dialogue, please watch the video first. Perhaps, like me, you’ll be inspired and challenged by this brilliant teacher.

Deborah Menken Gill gave this talk at Summit Avenue Assembly of God in April 1991. It had a profound impact on my views, and I later purchased a cassette tape recording. Later I digitized it onto CD and MP3, and now I share it via Youtube.

One thought on “Sit down ladies – God put men in charge!

Leave a comment